A little late, but here she is.

Well, its been quite a week.

I guess, for anyone who doesnt know, I should mention that we had our baby.
Sunday February 24 at 1:08 pm miss Madelyn Olivia Baker graced the world with her presence. Finally.

Saturday evening Jeremy and I went to a hockey game with James and Holly and afterwards decided to go to the Keg for a fantastical feast. We filled up on caesar salad, steak, potatoes, lobster and even creme brule for desert. It was more than I have eaten… ever. And delightful.

We had dinner late, so we got home and went to bed around 12:30. I woke up just before two am with the most horrible cramps and thought perhaps my stomach wasnt reacting nicely to the garlic, as it sometimes does. So I laid in bed, willing them to go away and felt a strange snap or a popping feeling. I got up to go to the washroom and litterally gushed everywhere. It seems it wasnt the garlic at all, but the baby saying it was go time.
In the bathroom I noticed my water was a dark and discusting green colour, which made me feel sick to my stomach thinking something was very very wrong.
I woke Jeremy up and called the hospital to ensure that it was as I had suspected, meconium. It was, and so off we went to the hospital.
Between the time we left home and arrived at the hospital at 3 am my contractions were 2 minutes apart.
I was hooked up to fetal monitors and, after an hour of horrible contractions, opted to take the gas mask for a test drive. Bliss.
Nitrous Oxide doesnt take the pain away, but it makes your brain forget that its in pain. At least thats what it felt like. You breathe it in as deeply as you can during your contractions and about half way through you start to feel like youre floating. It made my face feel like it was asleep. I think Jeremy thought I looked like a doped up drug addict… I remember very much wanting to share it with him when the nurses werent looking.

At around 4cm I requested an epidural. I went into the labour knowing I would take one if I wanted it, and do not for a second regret it. Although the iv made me so puffy that in all my pictures after her birth I look like a swollen chipmunk, and my legs and feet took five days to go back to their original size!!
After the epi Jeremy and I had a chance to have a little bit of a nap which was wonderful.
Around seven my mom and Megan showed up and visited for a bit.
In all honesty, between eight and eleven, I dont remember much, I dozed on and off and had my epidural topped up when I noticed an incredible urge to bear down.
I started complaining to the nurse (Tracie, who freaking rocked) about how strong the urge to push was, and how I was certain that I either needed to be checked, or they were going to need to change the sheets in a minute.
My doctor came in and examined me and I think everyone was a little shocked to see that I had progressed to 9 and a half cm already.
We topped up my epidural again and tried to wait out the last hour.
Thats when everyone started arriving, Jeremys mom and sister, both my sisters. It was a crowded room.
Then Tracie politely kicked everyone but Jeremy out and said that it was time to get the show on the road. I asked for my mom to come back in, because I had wanted her to be there as well.
At noon I was fully dialated and they turned down my epidural so I would feel the urge to push, and the baby coming out. We pushed for an hour straight. My contractions were right on top of one another, so there was minimal breaks in between each push.
I swear, I have never used some of the muscles that I did to push that child out of me.
It took every ounce of strength that I had, and I kept turning to Jeremy through out and telling him that I couldnt do it.  I would push and push and PUSH, and then lay back and just start sobbing, not because it hurt but because I was so overwhelmed. There were times I wanted to scream for my doctor to just reach in and grab her head  and pull it out next time she said “here comes the head again Coral”.
But its funny, almost as soon as I said I couldnt do it, they told m to slow my push down and her head was out. In an instant so was the rest of her body and I felt this unbelievable instant relief.
The pediatrician had to wisk her away and ensure he airways were clear because of the meconium, so Jeremy didnt get to cut the cord, and they didnt lay her right on me. It was hard knowing she was out and that I couldnt hear or see her.  But I remember asking right away if she was “still a girl”.
She was. She is. And shes stunning.
At 1:08 pm, after an hour of pushing we had a little girl.
I turned to Jeremy and just lost it, I cant tell you the last time I cried like that.
I knew that having a child would be life altering, and I knew it would feel incredible. But I didnt realize it would be like that. There are truly no words to explain just how overcome you are.

So, Madelyn Olivia Baker is a beautiful little wonder, all 7lb 13oz of her. She looks just like her father, with my nose and my scowl. She has dirty blonde hair and smells amazing.

I have been recovering well, no stitches or tears to impede my recovery, so I have been able to fully imerse myself in her.

We have a little family now, and I have never felt so full and complete.


Our first official family photo.


One day old at the hospital.


What a little beauty.

3 Comments

Filed under baby, life update

3 responses to “A little late, but here she is.

  1. zoeyjane

    awwwww. i am so proud of you (two, ahem. sure, both of you) 🙂

    I’m working on making something for madelyn – my original idea was scrapped by virtue of my kiddo’s destructive tendancies. twill be a bit, but it will still rock.

    congrats, once again.

  2. vancityrockgirl

    even though i know you had the baby, i was still waiting to see you update the blog
    i know. i need a hobby.

    well that all sounds… pretty amazing actually.
    and even though being pregnant and giving birth still scares the holy hell out of me… well, you kinda made it seem not so bad in that description. so um, maybe lie to me for another year or two and maybe i’ll be ready to take it on myself
    maybe.

  3. vancityrockgirl

    oh, and she is so beautiful and perfect.
    i can’t wait to see meet the new family.

Leave a Reply

