I have lost my toes.


Oh, they certainly arent kidding when they say that the last few weeks are the hardest.
Everything hurts, everything swells, everything aches. And it starts to seem endless.

I feel as big as a house. An old creaky broken house.

And her due date seems both farther away than ever, and closer than can be right.
A matter of weeks makes me a mother. And I feel like Im unprepared and not quite ready. I kind of feel like I wont ever  be prepared or ready.
But still, shes coming, ready or not.

In the land of updates….
We had a fairly busy Christmas. In Victoria and Coquitlam (and the rockiest ferry I have ever been on).  You cant tell from the picture, but the horizon was going from the top of the windows, and back to the bottom with each wave.  The ferry litterally stopped and the captain coasted us in, we started from the third docking bay, and ended up in the first. It was quite cool actually.

It was festive and we were both spoiled rotten. But thats ok, because I have a feeling next year will involve a lot of “Jeremy and Coral, who? Look at the pretty baby, awww.”
Which, honestly, is just fine by me.

I also found out that Im going to be given a younger brother or sister. Mm hmm… My biological father, informed me that he and his lady-friend are three months along with a bundle of their own.  Their baby will be born mere months after my own. Yes, Madelyn will be older than her Aunt or Uncle. I will chose my words wisely on how I write about this as my opinion and feelings have gone from one end of the scale to the other, and I fear only unruly emotions and hurt feelings will result.  Perhaps I will touch on that in another blog down the road from here.

I am still testing my blood sugars 4x daily, which is more a habit now than a bother… but I will be happy when its all over and done with. 
I also have great deal of pressure and pain of my pelvis, which requires careful positioning in daily activities, for fear of causing unmanagable pain resulting in bed rest. God help everyone I know if I am put on bed rest, I already get frustrated daily at the growing list of things I cannot do.

And Jeremy got a gig dj-ing at Hugo’s Tuesday nights, and Element on Sunday nights. I think hes enjoying being a full fledged radio AND club dj now.  Being given a limitless bar tab and paid in cash each night has its perks.  Next big ticket item on our list is a laptop for his even more rapidly expanding music collection.

We went for a big fancy dinner at Il Terrazzo for New Years and then to a small house party for the countdown. I will admit, I had a half a glass of champagne at midnight. Rebel, rebel.

*Sigh* and now its January, the month of endless birthdays and rain.

Yes, a busy and interesting holiday season it was. 

-C.

9 Comments

Filed under bump progression, health, life update

9 responses to “I have lost my toes.

  1. terra

    i’m really excited for you guys. really really really. and seriously, one day, you’ll wake up and miss being pregnant. i never thought it would be true but it is.

  2. alix

    you’re already doing a perfect job as a momma. go team!

    also, suxors to lose your toes. good luck with that one.

  3. vancityrockgirl

    Madelyn!
    i love how you just slipped that in!
    what a beautiful name.
    any reason you’re not spelling it the “classic” way of Madeline?

  4. coraljean

    thanks Terra… I hope I miss it enough to do it again one day. But… not for a while.

    And yes, Madelyn is her named, Madelyn Olivia.
    We debated between that spelling and the Madeleine, which I also really like…. but in the end we both liked the ‘yn’ combo more than the excessive ‘e’s in the traditional spelling.
    Isnt it pretty though?? Im excited to see if she actually suits it now. lol.

  5. Caitlin

    from a teacher’s point of view, madelyn is a much better spelling because no one will ever pronounce her name like the madeleine in the story books. phonetic spellings are a blessing for substitute teachers doing the attendance!

    and it’s just prettier 🙂

  6. vancityrockgirl

    it’s a lovely name! and i really like the name olivia also.
    nice work!

  7. Shawna Burley

    But Madelyn Olivia Todd right? Beautiful name…and for the record, you are one of the most beautiful pregnant women I ever saw, and I have seen quite a few – it really does look good on you! Love you and miss your face – Auntie Shawna

  8. GranDad

    For once I agree with Shawna. You are more radiant than usual. Love the belly shots. You seem to have embraced your pregnacy splendours with lots of joy. I think this is a big compliment to Jeremy.
    Hope you are taking care of yourself. Lots of Love and big hugs.
    GranDad & Janet

  9. Taylor

    I third what Auntie Shawna said. You do look gorgeous. Karri agrees (Seriously the first thing she said to me after meeting you was, “wow your cousin is pretty!”). Glad everything is perking up. Also Januray does not have THAT many birthdays.

Leave a Reply

